1982 Honda CB750 Nighthawk-Sold she’s going to Brazil!

She’s a 1982 Honda CB750 Nighthawk with 18,300 original miles. With the exception of the windshield and the pleather saddle bags, she is all original. She has a crack in one of the plastic pieces over the saddle bags and a couple plastic spots were repaired very well. There is a turn signal alarm added to her. As expected, the Honda horns no longer work, she has a bicycle squeaky horn. A few dings and scrapes, but overall in amazing shape for being a 31 year old bike. I had every intention of riding her back and forth to work but I just don’t have the time needed to maintain an older bike like this and with three kids and my wife back to work I don’t have the time to do much of anything so she has to go before she starts deteriorating from lack of use-that would be a shame. Someone who knows bikes could do a full restore on her fairly easily-or chop her like so many CBs have been done.

Her Blue Book is $1,165
http://www.kbb.com/motorcycle/retail/1982/honda/cb750sc-nighthawk-750/238058/

Her Trade in is $720
http://www.kbb.com/motorcycle/trade-in/1982/honda/cb750sc-nighthawk-750/238058/

I am asking $950 for her as is. Serious inquiries only, no tire kickers.

Being 31 years old, there are no guarantees. She would be a great candidate for a ground up restoration or put a few dollars into her and have a great old daily driver.
We have a clean title in hand.
See my 1982 Honda GL500 as well. Make an offer for both and you’ll walk away with a good deal and two old bikes in decent shape.
Her photo shoot. Click for larger image.

Side view, clean, classic style.

No mistaking she is a child of the 80s

A leather toolbag on the front would look great.

Really is in great shape for 30 years old

Paint is in really good shape

Chrome is in good shape

This is the broken plastic piece

The plastic is in good shape, shines up nice

Just enough chrome for my taste

4 carbs, 4 exhaust into 4 mufflers

Actual miles, I am the third owner.

36 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Spike on July 13, 2012 at 1:51 pm

    Great photos and nice old bike do you still have it??

    Reply

    • Thanks! She is a great looking and sounding bike in great shape for her age. Yes, I have both the GL and the CB. I am located in Southeastern Massachusetts. If you are seriously interested, leave a comment on here. I moderate all comments so I will keep it private. Thanks!

      Reply

      • Posted by Spike on July 14, 2012 at 2:08 am

        Hi there… I live in Brisbane Australia, which is probably a bit weird for you? But please dont let the distance worry you… I am very very interested in the bike!!!! I am currently looking into options to get the bike picked up at your end and transported to Australia…. Spike

  2. Hi Spike,

    I’m not sure about sending the bike overseas. I think the buyer should come see the bike first hand so everyone knows exactly what the deal is. Money in my hand, and the person rides off (or trailers off) with the bike. The best and safest way for all parties. If you are serious enough for that and can make that happen, then no problem.

    Thanks,
    Scott S.

    Reply

    • Posted by Spike on July 15, 2012 at 5:27 am

      Hi Scott,

      I fully understand your misapprehensions!! I totally understand that the bike is 30 years old and will not be “perfect” it will have scratches, worn areas etc… I also fully understand that you won’t want to be burnt in anyway with any deal that is reached!!

      Are you able to email me recent photos of the bike or are the ones you posted very recent? And can you confirm you have clear title on the bike? I am waiting to hear back in regards to the costs involved in importing your bike, if it is a viable option I would be prepared to pay you a deposit to show that I am legitimate. I would also ensure that the balance is paid to you in full when the bike is collected.

      If this sounds ok to you I will get back to you ASAP when I have the relevant information.

      Thanks

      Spike

      Reply

  3. Hi Spike,

    Yes those pictures are recent by a couple weeks ago. It is not on the road so it has only moved around in my yard.

    Scott

    Reply

  4. Posted by kel on July 16, 2012 at 7:24 am

    My husband and I are looking for a bike to cruise around with …do you still have it? i am in Southeastern Mass. Email me kelwes@verizon.net..and I will check this page for reply. Thanks

    Reply

  5. Hi Spike,

    No, I haven’t heard from them again,

    Scott

    Reply

    • Posted by Spike on July 22, 2012 at 8:42 pm

      Hi Scott….

      That is a bummer as I am sure you would like to get rid of it, but on a positive note I have looked into importing your bike and I am very keen to pursue this if you are?

      I need to apply to my customs for approval, if I dont get this I cannot proceed. So could I get the following information if possible:

      – Model
      – Year of manufacture
      – Vehicle Identification Number

      If you can email these to me at spikeee88@gmail.com I would be most appreciative!

      This process takes approx 15 days before I will know if it has been approved.

      Later on I will need to get a Bill of Sale and Original Title to show no loans etc are pending on the bike.

      Also can you have a think about the best way for me to pay your deposit and final payment?

      Cheers

      Spike

      Reply

      • Spike,

        I am sorry, but the only way I will sell the bike is if the money is paid in full in my hand in the form of a bank check or cash, or some electronic transfer that I can confirm. The payment is made and the keys and title are handed over. If you can find a third party (someone else comes to see the bike, agrees to purchase for you, and pays me) to do so, that would be fine with me. I won’t give out title info or VIN numbers or anything else. I’ll take photos and shoot video and let someone come look at it. It is just an old bike and while I would like to sell it, it wouldn’t be worth the extra stress, effort, or risk to do anything simpler than here is the money, here is the bike. If I can’t sell it, I will probably be trading it in on a newer bike.

        Scott S.

      • Posted by Spike on July 23, 2012 at 9:16 pm

        Hi Scott…

        Can you please advise where you are located and the closest bike dealer to you? I will see if they will look at the bike and purchase on my behalf, as this is going no where. Alternatively please let me know who you trade it to and I will deal directly with them.

        Spike

  6. Posted by E. McCaffrey on November 13, 2012 at 8:12 pm

    I would like to buy!

    Reply

  7. Posted by John sellers on March 22, 2013 at 9:04 pm

    Have you sold this bike?

    Reply

  8. Posted by Kimble Sanderson on April 12, 2013 at 10:33 pm

    Do you still have your Honda and where do you live .Thanks

    Reply

  9. Posted by Welder on April 20, 2013 at 4:30 am

    Hi Scott my name is Welder. I am interested in purchasing your bike. Email me back with details if you have not sold it yet. My email address is santoswelder@yahoo.com

    Reply

  10. $950 as it says in the post.

    Reply

  11. Posted by Welder Santos on June 3, 2013 at 12:04 am

    Hi, Scott I had spoken to you first about purchasing the bike and waited about 40 days for your response. I am asking for your consideration first in buying your bike and I am offering $1000 cash. My email is Santoswelder@yahoo.com please get back to me as soon as you can.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Welder Santos on June 3, 2013 at 12:42 am

    I have taken some thought and consideration and am now offering you $1100 cash for your bike. Email me at Santoswelder@yahoo.com so we can make a deal.

    Reply

  13. Welder Santos had contacted me about the bike first, before I had the bike out for sale this year, so I have contacted him back first. If he sees the bike and decides not to purchase, then I will contact you Alan. I have to be careful because I have dealt with a few dreamers. Sorry for any confusion, but this is a for sale post from last year, and when it wasn’t selling I wasn’t sure I would sell it this year. I waited until I got both bikes out and gave it a chance for me to ride again and it just didn’t happen again. These bikes deserve to be ridden and need to be ridden by someone who has the time to fiddle with old bikes. Time is just something I do not have anymore.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

