Beeriments (Beer Experiments)

Money and time are tight so not much brewing going on. Instead, I’ve been thinking about some different brews I would like to try. I call them my Beeriments. Someday I may scale one of the Beeriments down to 1-2 gallons and give it a try. Until then, I will post some of my ideas, some I will spell out my intent, others I will leave you to guess my intent. Without further delay, here is my first Beeriment:


Earl’s Grey Ale
Type: All Grain
Batch Size (fermenter): 5.00 gal
Boil Size: 8.00 gal
Boil Time: 60 min
Equipment: 15 gallon aluminum pot
End of Boil Volume 5.00 gal
Efficiency: 82.00 %

Fermentation: Primary @ 62F 4 weeks
Secondary: no
Dry Hop: no

Ingredients
Amt Name Type # %/IBU
5 lbs Pale Malt, Maris Otter (3.0 SRM) Grain 1 80.0 %
8.0 oz Caramel/Crystal Malt -120L (120.0 SRM) Grain 2 8.0 %
4.0 oz Acid Malt (3.0 SRM) Grain 3 4.0 %
4.0 oz Special Roast (50.0 SRM) Grain 4 4.0 %
4.0 oz Wheat, Torrified (1.7 SRM) Grain 5 4.0 %
0.25 oz Admiral [14.75 %] – First Wort 60.0 min Hop 6 19.5 IBUs
0.25 oz Admiral [14.75 %] – Boil 15.0 min Hop 7 8.8 IBUs
1.00 Box Earl Grey Tea Bags Steep post boil for 1/2 hour in whirlpool
Safale US-05 yeast

Beer Profile
Est Original Gravity: 1.038 SG
Est Final Gravity: 1.009 SG
Estimated Alcohol by Vol: 3.7 %
Bitterness: 28.3 IBUs
Est Color: 10.7 SRM

The hope is for a light beer with a strong flavor and aroma of Bergamot from the Earl Grey tea. Now if I could get my hands on actual Bergamot oranges….

One response to this post.

  1. That’s the spirit! Even when you’re not brewing at the moment, it’s great to get your ideas down on paper– or the screen, in this case. That way you can still share your vision with others, and perhaps inspire them in their own endeavors.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

