You Brew Your Own Beer?: You can’t Wax Off if you don’t Wax On

I finally got the wax on my bottles of RIS that I am going to age for 5, well 4 years now sampling every June 22nd (ish) until then. I hope this helps them age that long. It wasn’t hard to do. I just got the water boiling and the wax melted. Then I inverted a bottle, swirled it around in the wax, lifted straight up until it stopped dripping, inverted it and set it on a newspaper. I did a second dip on each bottle to make sure I got a good seal.

The wax


I used a double boiler to melt the wax


Unsuspecting bottles waiting for wax


All dressed up and no place to go but in the cellar


Should work for long term aging

Leave a Reply

