Parti time – BIAB Screw you cancer type beer

Yesterday I finally got to my Russian Imperial Stout. This is the one I plan to age for 5 years and open up in celebration of me being officially cancer free.

The recipe:
6 Gallons
~1.1 OG
113 IBU

19.00 lb Pale Malt (2 Row) Bel (3.0 SRM) Grain 82.61 %
1.50 lb Roasted Barley (300.0 SRM) Grain 6.52 %
1.00 lb Special B Malt (180.0 SRM) Grain 4.35 %
0.50 lb Caramunich Malt (56.0 SRM) Grain 2.17 %
0.50 lb Chocolate Malt (350.0 SRM) Grain 2.17 %
0.50 lb Chocolate Malt (450.0 SRM) Grain 2.17 %
3.00 oz Magnum [12.50 %] (60 min) Hops 98.2 IBU
3.00 oz Goldings, East Kent [5.30 %] (10 min) Hops 15.1 IBU

This will go onto a fat S-04 yeast cake to ferment around 62F.
Here is the yeast cake split into two carboys.

A beautiful mash. It smelled amazing.

Not a bad looking wort either.

Hey. What’s this? Doesn’t look like RIS. It isn’t, instead of my normal sour mash partigyle I did something different.

My RIS recipe was for 6 gallons. I put 5 gallons in the 6 gallon Better Bottle and left 1 gallon in the kettle. I was thinking about how many sugars I had left, even with a 1.1 OG there was some good sugar in there. I also wasn’t sure the grains used would do well souring so I decided to do a partigyle.

After the RIS went into the carboy, I put the grain bag back into the kettle on top of the gallon of extra wort and poured in three new gallons of water. I was thinking about just heating the mash up to mash temperatures directly but then thought some caramel tones would be nice so I did my first decoction. I took a few quarts of mash and heated them in another pan to boiling while stirring constantly, poured it into the mash and checked temeprature. Once I got to around 152 I put 4# of 2 row and 4 oz of torrified wheat and stirred it all up. I mashed for 60 minutes. II tasted the wort and it screamed
CHOCOLATE
and then it hit me. This could be a Mexican Chocolate Porter. My OG would be around 1.069 and I could add cocoa and cayenne in the secondary. I boiled and used Columbus hops for bittering around 35 IBUs. The wort tasted great and looked like chocolate milk going in. Today there was activity in both carboys, the RIS blowing off already and the Porter begin to Krausen.

Leave a Reply

